Making an Ombre Headband for a Bedazzled Sweater

I live in an apartment complex where people kindly leave books for other people along with other items that they want to give away for free in the library section of the laundry room. One of my recent lucky finds was this bedazzled pink sweater that appeared to never have been worn. Like many of my other outfits, I decided I wanted to have a head piece to go with it so I decided to make a bedazzled ombre-effect headband:

IMG_2236

Here’s a closer look at the design on the sweater shoulder area I was inspired by in juxtaposition to the headband I made:

IMG_2370

Here are the materials I used to make the headband:

Step 1: Separate the gemstones according to color. There should be a variety in sizes for each color too. For a fun look, I decided to keep the colors consistent but the sizes of the stones mixed.

Step 2: Trim the ribbon according the circumference of your head of where you would wear the headband and leave extra length on (to be safe, I would leave on about an extra 4 inches on)

Step 3: Go ahead and arrange the stones on the ribbon according to how you want to have it be on the hairband. Once you’re happy, start gluing each stone onto the ribbon by applying fabric glue. Tip: It’s easier to apply the glue if you use a Q-tip

Step 4: Let it dry! I let it dry for a day and continued working on it the next day to be safe.

Step 5: Cut fairly identical-sized pieces (about 3/4 inch) from the velcro straps [from both the soft and rough surface spools]. Fold each ends of the ribbon twice and glue the folds down with the glue gun. Place the velcro pieces onto the ends (make sure you have one on the front and the other one on backside of the headband:

IMG_2372.JPG

In case you were wondering what the rest of my outfit looked like, I decided showing off a little leg would balance out the conservative nature of the top half so I paired the sweater with grey plaid shorts (you can wear tights or knee socks underneath during the colder months) and one of my favorite fuchsia satin heels:

IMG_2379

And there you go! It’s a classic look with a bit of a bedazzle~

-M

Leave a Reply

