The Watermelon Dress 3 Ways

As an avid dress wearer, I decided I wanted to get one of those watermelon dresses I’ve been seeing around lately. And frankly, I couldn’t decide between all the different options of gloves, hats and shoes. So here’s 3 ways I’ve worn it (which doesn’t include other looks I have since then played around with):

Click here to buy the watermelon dress I’m wearing

Look#1: The most indoor-event friendly and hugging/kissing other people-friendly option. The fascinator makes me think of the vintage swim caps a bit which is also season-appropriate. Since it’s the only hat option that doesn’t come with a wide brim it does make it easier for the kissing/hugging of people. However, it is also very securely fastened by a band onto my head and would actually fare well in windy conditions if I were to be out and about. The minty, sea foamy sage green gloves and shoes were also with the lighter green color scheme that you see in the thin stripes of light green near the hem of the dress.

IMG_2031

Look #2: The farmers market look (especially if I’m picking up some watermelon there). It’s the most casual look out of the three and would also be the most practical when it comes to protecting myself from the sun. I did end up wearing the same shoes as look #1 but would ideally pair it with something of a darker green to match my darker green gloves (which I would have on so that it wouldn’t get dirty as easily as the lighter green gloves when I’m picking out fruits and vegetables at the farmers market and such).

IMG_2042

Look #3: The derby, polo or wedding look. This one is definitely the look I would go for at festive events where it would be acceptable for me to show some flare. The green gloves were appropriately matching the color of the fascinator and are satin so I went with a pair of one of my favorite satin heels that went with the fuchsia color of the watermelon.

IMG_2173

Along with my cucumbers, I have been enjoying some good watermelons lately with my balsamic vinegar and mint leaves. So whether you are eating them or wearing them as a fashion statement, I hope watermelons and all the refreshing fruits in season will help you stay cool this summer!

– M

Leave a Reply

