My Take On Healthier Mashed Potatoes

I have a fairly consistent diet that I stick to on a regular basis since I am a single woman who is only responsible for cooking for herself.

However, when it comes to cooking for others it’s a different matter. I recently spent a few days cooking for hungry teenagers on a trip to Canada and decided on a whim to try a spin on the mashed cauliflower I keep hearing about people doing in place of mashed potatoes.

Mine is more like a 50:50 ratio of mashed potatoes:mashed cauliflower. It definitely looked and tasted like mashed potatoes and no one knew that there was cauliflower in there.

Moreover, I decided to do another take on it after coming home and blended it in with an element I have in my regular diet (butternut squash soup) en lieu of gravy.

(In Canada, I had a bed of tomato-based sauce with cooked vegetables to put under the mashed potatoes en lieu of gravy)

IMG_0689

These are the ingredients I basically used to make this dish:

IMG_0679

Chicken broth is a good option instead of water (not photographed). The progression of how I make it looks like the following:

I peeled the potatoes and diced them into the pan along with bits of the cauliflower. I dropped in about half a block of light cream cheese in and added the liquid (water or chicken broth will do). I filled it up to where the vegetables are inside the pan but I wouldn’t panic if you feel like you added in too much liquid since it will evaporate eventually anyways as you cook it down. I then put a lid on it and simmered it in the pan on medium heat until the vegetables cook down, about 10 minutes (it will depend on how much content you have in your pan too).

Then, when the vegetables are soft enough, mash it. While many people have an actual potato masher, I prefer to have item be multi-functional so I usually use the bottom of a heat-proof cup or the wooden rolling pin I used in the photo. As I continued to cook down the liquid until the consistency thickens, I consistently stirred with a spatula. Note that when you cool it down the thickening process will continue to happen so it’s alright if it seems slightly under-thickened.

For the combination that was photographed, I served the mashed potatoes/cauliflower with the butternut squash soup en lieu of gravy and garnished it with chives.

Bon appétit!

-M

Leave a Reply

