The Brooklyn Museum Costume Collection

I had a ball attending the exhibition at the Legion of Honor in San Francisco showcasing high style fashion from the Brooklyn Museum. The exhibition is running until July 19th so if you’re in the area, I would highly recommend making a trip there.

My very great friend Jacqueline Smith is the editor of the green blog greeneroo and we attended the exhibit together.

IMG_1673

If you’re curious to know what my full outfit looked like that day, Jacqueline did take a photo of me prior to entering the museum:

IMG_1649

Due to the lighting, it’s very hard to make out everything, but I was able to sport my Marie Antoinette-eque pair of shoes I recently got that day with the light blue accent I was going for that day:

marie antoinette shoes

Click here to buy the shoes

Here are also some of my favorite picks from the exhibit:

1525166_10206412364410533_21228935178769_n

Generally, I’m not too much into geometric patterns but I really loved this one! I think the softness of the silhouette of the dress complimented the more linear lines of the pattern and it also could easily be a dress that could work for casual or more formal events because of the mix.

11128637_10206412366010573_1289778480419857573_n

The bubble dress seemed a bit Alice in Wonderland’s Queen of Hearts. I would have so much fun walking around in this outfit on a rainy day (maybe because the bubble part of the dress remind me a bit of an umbrella). 11159453_10206412364730541_3475790315066847901_n

I do love formal dresses with capes. While the bottom half of the dress is simple and clean, the beaded detail at the top draws attention to the lovely caped region. IMG_1655I also love the concept of combining east and west. Indian fabrics are so colorful and ornate and I would love to have a dress made of that material, though preferably not strapless.

We also had lunch at the museum cafe prior to the exhibit and their menu items were named after famous fashion designers in honor of the exhibition. Who wouldn’t want to casually say “I’ll have the Carolina Herrera”? This is how fashion meets food!

Thank you again to Jacqueline for the wonderful outing.

Here’s to girlfriend time,

M

2 thoughts on “The Brooklyn Museum Costume Collection

  1. Pingback: My Take on Wedding Guest Fashion | Le Blog: On Being a Modern Vintage Woman

  2. Pingback: My Big Magic (Halloween Style) | Le Blog: On Being a Modern Vintage Woman

Leave a Reply

