My Not-So-Guilty Pleasures

It’s become common knowledge that deprivation tends to lead in the direction of overindulgence. And like a hang-over (though it’s hard to say because I’ve never had a hangover since I don’t really drink) overindulgence can make us feel sick. This actually happens to me when I also stare at a screen for long periods of time, which is why I tend to stay away from binge watching movies or shows. I can thank my mother for raising me with the belief that tv should be watched in moderation!

Needless to say, the secret to having guilty pleasures not cause guilt (or feeling sick) is to regulate it so that you purposely do it regularly in moderation. With that said, I present to you my list of not-so-guilty pleasures I partake in:

1.) Plane trips – Ironically, I also get sick on airplanes when it passes the 10 hour mark (especially if it’s on the plane trip getting there). I usually keep it to one international trip and one domestic trip a year. I do think it’s a shame that some people that go to all these exotic countries never take the time to explore more local fun places and get to know where they actually live. Likewise, I think it’s also a shame that those who can afford to go never venture out to explore other countries out there because it really gives you a wider perspective and can lead to appreciate what you have back at home or see what we could do better at our home country.

I plan on going to Paris at the end of this year. And though I’ve been there before a few times and even had a chance to study abroad there during college, I decided to read this book for my own good (and pleasure) on better understanding the French people and France:

Picture 4

Click here to buy the book

2.) Food indulgences – I am about self-care so I do religiously go to the farmers market and prepare all of my food throughout the week. But I do usually go out to eat once a week to indulge on one savory meal and one dessert. It helps that it usually ends up being on Sundays (aka my Fundays) since that’s also the day I don’t consciously exercise. Brunch is my favorite meal to indulge on!

My favorite sweet to indulge any time of the year is ice cream and this is the time of the year when pumpkin ice cream comes out in stores. Trader Joe’s already has had theirs out this month. I try to stock up on those in the freezer as Thanksgiving comes to an end. The other ice cream I currently have in the freezer is their Speculoos Cookie Butter ice cream (yes, for those of you who have had speculoos cookies or their cookie butter it’s in ice cream form now too). For those of you who don’t have access to a Trader Joe’s store locally:

Picture 7

Click here to buy the jars of cookie butter

3.) Shopping indulgences – I usually allow myself to buy at least one fun item for myself once a month. It does help to keep a budget (in which case you can also do in a way where you buy multiple items and keep the total cost under the budget). This month, my fun indulgence includes the white lace heels I bought on ModCloth and an xtaren outerwear (I’m not sure if it would count as a jacket or a cardigan) I got at a fashion party at Boutique4 in Mountain View. Xtaren items aren’t available on their site for non-wholesalers and I was not able to find the exact match on other sites. So sorry about that!

Picture 6

Click here to buy the heels

4.) Self-Care/Pampering – I have a monthly membership at a local facial spa which allows me to get a facial once a month. And I don’t ever have to think about making an appointment because I already schedule my next appointment on the spot as soon as I come out of the facial I get while I’m there. This is probably the one indulgence that I will most likely give up last (even if it means cutting back on all the other indulgences). As Warren Buffet put it, the best investment you can make is in yourself!

While I think at home spa treatments can be wonderful too, I certainly don’t know how to use an extractor tool and would rather get that done by a professional. But that doesn’t mean you should neglect your face on all the other days in between. The first time (and so far the last time) I got a back facial, the esthetician that did the procedure told me I didn’t need one but did recommend this eco-friendly sunblock lotion that I’ve since been using religiously everyday:

Picture 8

Click here to buy the sunscreen lotion

It’s a bit more pricier than most sunscreens out there but I do like the idea of wearing physical sunscreen rather than chemical sunscreen. For those of you who don’t know the difference between the two, here’s a more in depth explanation on the differences: http://www.skinacea.com/sunscreen/physical-vs-chemical-sunscreen.html#.VCTd1hz3PN4

5.) Fun Reads – There’s a reason why 50 Shades of Grey became so popular (one I have yet to read). It doesn’t have to be erotica and you can still read something insightful or informative (not that erotica can’t be insightful or informative!). In addition to Savoir Flair, I am currently reading the book #GIRLBOSS from coming across it via the book club I joined (I’m on chapter 9 at the moment). And as the author Sophia Amoruso mentioned in the book, it’s not really a guidebook per say for other female entrepreneurs but rather her story of how she built her business and what she’s learned throughout her journey (I would say it’s part-autobiography and those can be fun to read).

Picture 5

Click here to buy the book

6.) Fun shows – I think the same could be said about tv too, in that you can still watch informative or insightful shows for entertainment as well. I’m a big fan of the ABC show The Chew (which is very informative for food, crafting and fashion ideas). And in case you didn’t know, they also have books that cover these ideas on the show!

Picture 9                 Picture 10

Click/buy Food. Life. Fun                       Click/buy What’s for Dinner?

Picture 11
Click/buy A Year of Celebrations

This doesn’t mean I won’t partake in my Game of Thrones nights with friends or laugh at Jimmy Kimmel’s monologues. And I never get tired of watching the film Sound of Music.

7.) Silly dance music– I think everyone should have a songlist where they allow themselves to dance silly (or sexy) when they’re all alone (or not). Here is a portion of my silly dance music playlist:

Getting Jiggy Wit It – By Will Smith (the title says it all!)

Whip It – By Devo (it’s a great song to make being productive fun)

Womanizer – By Britney Spears (gets me in the mood for some sexy strutting on the runway!)

Happy – By Pharrell Williams (sure, it may be overplayed but who doesn’t like this song?)

The bottom line is you should do things that do make YOU feel good (as long as it doesn’t affect anyone else negatively). And many of us were blessed with 5 senses that allow us to enjoy many of these pleasures so appreciate it! And that is precisely why I am not going to feel guilty about admitting to any of these so-called pleasures.

Leave a Reply

